Twitter Facebook

The Shamrogues

Niall Spratt & Patrick Meehan

The Shamrogues series of children’s books (four titles) was first published in the early nineties and was a sensation. Orpen Press are pleased to announce the publication of new, updated editions of the first two books in this much-loved series, The Shamrogues – First Challenge and The Shamrogues – Second Challenge.

The Shamrogues are five magical creatures who were entrusted with the power of the high druids of Ireland when magic became forbidden in Ireland. Disguised as stones, they are awakened from their sleep by a little girl called Niamh. Together with Niamh and her brother Conor and sister Sinead, and with many other creatures they meet along the way, the Shamrogues set about on a quest to save the local environment from its enemies.

Having sold over 40,000 copies in its first edition, this series will delight a new generation of children.

Available in:


Publication Date

July 2012


978-1-871305-57-9 (Paperback)

No. of Pages



198 x 128


Children's Books

About the Co-Author